★ Navigating Change: A MrJayMyers Week in Review

IMG_6044

Big changes affect us all. Changes are afoot at my house: art, home, job, state—it’s all transcendently transforming.

Art for example: for my new job, I gave up what had become a good 50% of my normal method (iPad pro and Apple pencil) this week. That kinda hurts, but in the midst of change there is, thankfully, still Pentel brushes, pencil, and that dead tree stuff (which holds the soul of the tree—how else do we explain all those drawings) we call,  paper. Let’s not forget my family (my beautiful bride is behind the camera) who are creating opportunities to draw in the midst of packing, house finding, etc.

A 15MinArt Drawing Challenge around the table.

As life works, I imagine many of you are experiencing various changes as well. A fifteen minute drawing session is one way to keep our fingers limber and a fun way to keep us ’round the table after dinner for a bit too. Keep the practice steady as you can, but don’t be afraid to rest (visit a park, sleep, listen to a book, etc.) when needed.

Here’s a couple of my #15minartchallenge sketches from this week:

spectralboy

From William Joyce’s Nicholas St. North, The Spectral Boy

jump

Tomy jumps

Phillipe "the mouse" Gaston

Phillipe “the mouse” Gaston: I am finding that many people just don’t remember Ladyhawke. You should watch it when you get the chance if you too don’t remember it.

This week, I finished reading and totally dug Andrew Peterson’s The Wingfeather Saga (book four); The Warden and The Wolf King. (My kids were way ahead of me on that one.) Such a great read, wonder-full.  I’m stoked to get started on the comic. Here’s a my take on a scene from the book.

Claxton_Weaver

The Florid Sword talks with Claxton Weaver.

The amazingly talented Otis Frampton invited me to create a pin-up for his latest book and it came out (I believe) last week!

IMG_6088

So, while we are transmogrifying our lives, I may not get an update out next week as we’ll be doing the final packing up, moving out, and unpacking. Which means, until next time, keep creative juices flowing and have a great couple of weeks!

BTW, what kind of changes are you navigating and how are you staying creative through it?

Jay

P.S. If you’ve got an upcoming move approaching or just have a mobile lifestyle, and need a solution for all the art supplies you want to carry,  check out this art wrap my wife got me not too long ago. I love it.

via Jay Myers http://www.mrjaymyers.com/2016/05/navigating-change-a-mrjaymyers-week-in-review/

